Why I speak Black and African

I shared this on my facebook status and it received a few shares.

“I talk of blackness not because I despise non-blackness. I speak of Africanness not because I detest non-Africanness. I speak of it because for the past 500 years blackness and Africanness were demonised. And so a few of us are trying to buy back the lost 500 years one status at a time. Shifting mindsets one status at a time.” – me

One thought on “Why I speak Black and African

Add yours

  1. I stumbled upon this post today, Siki and it spoke exactly to what I feel. I think I was meant to read it. I wanted to write something along these lines and didn’t know how to word it. You’ve done it wonderfully. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

